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Summary of
Qualifications and Requirements for the
Nonpartisan Office of

SUPERINTENDENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION
June 2, 2026, Statewide Direct Primary Election

I. QUALIFICATIONS

Every candidate shall:

A. Be a registered voter and otherwise qualified to vote for that office at the time that
nomination papers are issued to the person. § 201!

B. Not have been convicted of a felony involving accepting or giving, or offering to give, any
bribe, the embezzlement of public money, extortion or theft of public money, perjury, or
conspiracy to commit any of those crimes. § 20

C. Not have served two terms in the office. Cal. Const., art. IX, § 2

II. REQUIREMENTS

A. CAMPAIGN FILINGS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
Any individual who intends to be a candidate for an elective state office shall:

1. Candidate Intention Statement

File with the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division a Candidate Intention
Statement (Form 501) for the specific state office sought. A separate Form 501 must
be filed for each election, including re-election to the same office. This statement shall
be signed under penalty of perjury and filed prior to the solicitation or receipt of any
contribution or loan, including expenditures made from personal funds used for
campaign purposes. Gov. Code § 85200

2. Campaign Contribution Account

a. A Statement of Organization—Recipient Committee (Form 410) shall be filed with
the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division within 10 days of receiving

! All code section references are to the California Elections Code unless stated otherwise.
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$2,000 or more in a calendar year. Gov. Code §§ 82013(a), 84101

. Establish one campaign contribution account at an office of a financial institution

located in California after filing the Candidate Intention Statement.
Gov. Code § 85201(a)

All contributions or loans made to the candidate, to a person on behalf of the
candidate, or to the candidate’s controlled committee shall be deposited in the
account. Gov. Code § 85201(c)

. Any personal funds, which will be used to promote the election of the candidate,

shall be deposited in the account prior to expenditure. Gov. Code § 85201(d)

All campaign expenditures shall be made from the account.
Gov. Code § 85201(e)

3. Exceptions

a. Parts 1 and 2(d) and (e), above, do not apply to a candidate's payment of a filing

fee and statement of qualifications fee from their personal funds.
Gov. Code §§ 85200, 85201(f)

b. Part 2, above, does not apply if the candidate does not receive contributions and

makes campaign expenditures from personal funds of less than $2,000 in a calendar
year, excluding payment of the filing fee and statement of qualifications fee.
Gov. Code § 85201(g)

An individual who raises contributions from others for their campaign, but who
raises or spends less than $2,000 in a calendar year, shall establish a campaign
contribution account but is not required to file a Statement of Organization or other
statement of bank account information. Gov. Code § 85201(h)

B. FILING FEES

1.

Full Payment of Filing Fee

A candidate must pay a filing fee equal to 2% of the first year’s salary as of the first
day on which a candidate may circulate petitions in lieu of filing fees, made payable to
the Secretary of State. Currently, the filing fee for State Superintendent of Public
Instruction is $4,272.34. The filing fee must be paid to the county elections official at
the time the candidate obtains their Declaration of Candidacy and nomination papers
from the county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.

§§ 8103(a)(1), 8105
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2. Siegnatures In Lieu of Filing Fee

A candidate may choose to submit, by February 4, 2026 (E-118), a minimum of 6,000
valid signatures on petitions in lieu of filing fee.  §§ 8106(a)(3), 8106(b)(3), 8162(b)

a.

Petitions for in-lieu signatures may be obtained from the county elections official
and circulated between December 19, 2025 (E-165), and February 4, 2026 (E-118).
Sections of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions shall be filed with the county elections
official of the county in which the signers reside. §§ 8106(b), 8162

The candidate may submit signatures to cover all or any prorated portion of the
filing fee. § 8106(b)(3)

Any registered voter may sign an in-lieu-filing-fee petition for any candidate for
whom they are eligible to vote. § 8106(b)(1)

Circulators of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions must be 18 years of age or older.  § 102

Within 10 days after receipt of the petition, the county elections official shall notify
the candidate of any deficiency. The candidate shall then, at the time of obtaining
nomination forms, pay a pro rata portion of the filing fee to cover the deficiency.

§ 8106(b)(3)

Signatures in lieu of the filing fee may be counted toward the nomination sponsor
signature requirements. §§ 8061, 8106(d)

Signature In Lieu of Filing Fee Requirements
§§ 8106(a)(3), 8162(b)

Signatures In Lieu Value of Each

Candidates Filing Fee of Filing Fee Signature
All Superintendent of $4,272.34 6,000 $0.712056667

Public Instruction
Candidates (except
write-in candidates)

C. BALLOT DESIGNATIONS

1. Each candidate who submits a ballot designation shall file a completed ballot
designation worksheet that supports the use of that ballot designation by the candidate.
The ballot designation worksheet shall be filed with the elections official at the same
time that the candidate files their declaration of candidacy. § 13107.3
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The designation shall remain the same for all purposes of both primary and general
elections, unless the candidate, at least 98 days prior to the general election, requests in
writing a different designation which the candidate is entitled to use at the time of the
request. The written request must be accompanied by a ballot designation worksheet.

§ 13107(h)

D. STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTERESTS

1.

Each candidate must file a Statement of Economic Interests electronically with the Fair
Political Practices Commission disclosing investments, interests in real property, and
any income received during the immediately preceding 12 months pursuant to the
requirements of the Political Reform Act of 1974, As Amended.

Gov. Code §§ 87200, 87201, 87500(a)

This statement is to be filed between February 9, 2026 (E-113) and March 6, 2026
(E-88). It is not required if the candidate has filed such statements within the past 60
days for the same jurisdiction. Gov. Code § 87201

E. FOR ALL CANDIDATES (EXCEPT WRITE-IN CANDIDATES)

1.

Between February 9, 2026 (E-113), and March 6, 2026 (E-88), obtain nomination
documents from the county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.
Nomination documents include nomination papers for collecting signatures and a

Declaration of Candidacy that must be executed by the candidate.
§§ 333, 8020, 8040, 8041

Nomination Papers

a. Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers.
§ 8062(a)(1)

b. Signatures on the in-lieu-filing-fee petitions may satisfy this signature requirement.
§§ 8061, 8106(d)

c. Any candidate may obtain signatures for and sign their own nomination papers.
§ 106(a)

d. All signers must be registered California voters. §§ 100, 8068

e. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators
must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066

f. Between February 9, 2026 (E-113), and March 6, 2026 (E-88), each section of the
nomination paper shall be delivered to the county elections official of the county in
which the signer resides and is a voter. §§ 8020, 8063
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3.

Declaration of Candidacy

a. The Declaration of Candidacy shall be obtained from, and delivered to, the county
elections official of the county in which the candidate resides and is a voter.
§§ 8040, 8064

b. Upon request of a candidate, the county elections official shall provide the
candidate with a Declaration of Candidacy. The county elections official shall not
require a candidate to sign, file, or sign and file a Declaration of Candidacy as a
condition of receiving nomination papers. § 8020(d)

c. The county elections official shall require all candidates filing a Declaration of
Candidacy to execute the declaration in their office unless the candidate, in a
written statement signed and dated by the candidate, designates a third party to
obtain the declaration form from the county elections official and to deliver it to the
candidate. The written statement shall state that the candidate is aware that the
Declaration of Candidacy must be properly executed and delivered not later than
5:00 p.m. on March 6, 2026 (E-88), to the office of the county elections official
from whom it was received. Any person may return the completed Declaration of
Candidacy. § 8028

4. If the eligible incumbent fails to file the nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on

March 6, 2026 (E-88), any other person, if otherwise qualified, may obtain and file the
nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on March 11, 2026 (E-83). §§ 8020, 8022

If only an incumbent and one other candidate, excluding write-in candidates, have
qualified to have their name placed on the ballot and either dies after March 6, 2026
(E-88), but on or before March 26, 2026 (E-68), any person otherwise qualified may
circulate and deliver nomination documents for the nomination for that office to the
county elections official by 5:00 p.m. on March 26, 2026 (E-68). § 8027

F. FOR WRITE-IN CANDIDATES ONLY

1.

Write-in candidates for nonpartisan office are allowed to run in both the primary and
general elections. §§ 8141, 8600(c), 13212

Filing Fees

Write-in candidates are not required to pay filing fees. § 8604

Nomination Papers

a. Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers.
§§ 8062(a)(1), 8600
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b. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators

must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066
All signers must be registered California voters. §§ 100, 8603

Between April 6, 2026 (E-57), and May 19, 2026 (E-14), circulate nomination
papers for signatures and leave them for examination with the county elections
official of the county in which the signers reside. § 8601

If no candidates receive a majority of the votes cast at the primary election and a
general election is required, between September 7, 2026 (general election — E-57),
and October 20, 2026 (general election — E-14), circulate nomination papers for
signatures and leave them for examination with the county elections official of the
county in which the signers reside. §§ 8140, 8601

4. Statement of Write-In Candidacy

a. Between April 6,2026 (E-57), and May 19, 2026 (E-14), file a Statement of Write-

C.

In Candidacy with the county elections official of the candidate’s county of
residence. § 8601

If no candidates receive a majority of the votes cast at the primary election and a
general election is required, between September 7, 2026 (general election — E-57),
and October 20, 2026 (general election — E-14), file a Statement of Write-In
Candidacy with the county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.

§§ 8140, 8601

The Statement of Write-In Candidacy shall contain the following information:

i. Candidate’s name,
ii. Candidate’s complete residence address,
iii. A declaration stating that the candidate is a write-in candidate,
iv. The name of the office for which the candidate is running, and
v. The date of the election. § 8600

III. GENERAL INFORMATION

A.

Each of the forms mentioned above is available free of charge from the county elections
official. § 8101

The term of office for State Superintendent of Public Instruction is four years, beginning
on January 4, 2027. Cal. Const., art IX, § 2
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C. Any candidate who at the primary election receives votes on a majority of all the ballots
cast for candidates for this office shall be elected to the office. Where a candidate has been
elected to a nonpartisan office at the primary election, the office shall not appear on the
ballot at the ensuing general election. § 8140

D. If no candidate has been elected to a nonpartisan office pursuant to Section 8140, then the
candidates receiving the two highest number of votes cast for nomination to the office shall
be candidates at the ensuing general election. § 8141

E. In the case of a tie vote, nonpartisan candidates receiving the same number of votes shall
be candidates at the ensuing general election if they qualify pursuant to Section 8141
whether or not there are more candidates at the general election than prescribed. In no case
shall the tie be determined by lot. § 8142(a)

F. Because of the requirements of the Political Reform Act, As Amended, a candidate should
visit the website of the Fair Political Practices Commission at www.fppc.ca.gov for the
most recent copy of the Information Manual on Campaign Disclosure Provisions of the
Political Reform Act, which gives the filing requirements for reporting campaign
contributions, etc.

IMPORTANT NOTICE

This information sheet of candidate qualifications and procedures is for general information only and does
not have the force and effect of law, regulation, or rule. In case of conflict, the law, regulation, or rule will
apply. The candidate should obtain the most up-to-date information available because of possible changes
in law.
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