August 24, 2018

County Clerk/Registrar of Voters (CC/ROV) Memorandum #18201

TO: All County Clerks/Registrars of Voters

FROM: /s/ Kirsten Larsen

Program Manager, Candidate Filing and Election Night Reporting

RE: General Election: Judicial Candidates

As you are aware, the California Constitution requires that all appointments and nominations to the courts of appeal by the Governor be confirmed or rejected by the Commission on Judicial Appointments (COJA).

On August 23, 2018, COJA held the confirmation hearings for four judicial appointees and nominees. All four were confirmed, immediately sworn into their respective offices, and will appear on the Certified List of Candidates for the November 6, 2018, General Election ballot.

For purposes of ballot layout, Elections Code section 13210(d) provides as follows:

In the case of candidates for Justice of the Supreme Court and court of appeal, within the rectangle provided for each candidate, and immediately above each candidate's name, there shall appear the following: "For (designation of judicial office)." There shall be as many of these headings as there are candidates for these judicial offices. No heading shall apply to more than one judicial office. Underneath each heading shall appear the words "Shall (title and name of Justice) be elected to the office for the term provided by law?"

For the justices who were confirmed by COJA on August 23, 2018, based on Elections Code section 13210(d), under the main "JUDICIAL" heading and specifically under the following headings, the ballot should read as follows:

 For Associate Justice, Court of Appeal, First Appellate District, Division Four

Shall Associate Justice Alison M. Tucher be elected to the office for the term provided by law?

 For Associate Justice, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District, Division Three

Shall Associate Justice Halim Dhanidina be elected to the office for the term provided by law?

 For Presiding Justice, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District, Division Four

Shall Presiding Justice Nora M. Manella be elected to the office for the term provided by law?

 For Associate Justice, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate District, Division Five

Shall Associate Justice Dorothy C. Kim be elected to the office for the term provided by law?

A number of counties have contacted our office regarding the names of the other judicial candidates who will appear on the November ballot. Please see the Judicial Candidates attachment for this information. The attachment includes the four above-named justices.

In addition, courtesy translations of the judicial ballot questions for all judicial candidates will be emailed to counties on Friday, August 31, 2018. If you have questions regarding translations, please contact Mike Somers at (916) 695-1563 or mike.somers@sos.ca.gov.

If you have any other questions feel free to contact the Candidate Filing and Election Night Reporting Team at (916) 653-9154. Thank you.

Attachment – Judicial Candidates

Judicial Candidates

MARLA MILLER

8/24/2018 Page 1 of 9

SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE

CAROL A. CORRIGAN	Nonpartisar
SUPREME COURT ASSOCIATE JUSTICE	
LEONDRA R. KRUGER	Nonpartisar
COA - PJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 1	
JAMES M. HUMES	Nonpartisar
COA - AJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 1	
SANDRA MARGULIES	Nonpartisar
COA - AJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 2	
JAMES A. RICHMAN	Nonpartisar

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 2

Nonpartisan

General Election - November 6, 2018Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 2 of 9

	COA - PJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 3	
PETER JOHN SIGGIN	5	Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 4	
JON B. STREETER		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 4	
ALISON M. TUCHER		Nonpartisan
	COA - PJ - DISTRICT 1 DIVISION 5	
BARBARA JONES		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 1	
HELEN BENDIX		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 1	
VICTORIA G. CHANEY	•	Nonpartisan

General Election - November 6, 2018 Judicial Candidates

NORA M. MANELLA

8/24/2018 Page 3 of 9

	COA - PJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 2	
ELWOOD LUI		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 2	
VICTORIA M. CHAVEZ		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 3	
ANNE H. EGERTON		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 3	
LUIS A. LAVIN		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 3	
HALIM DHANIDINA		Nonpartisan
	COA - PJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 4	

Nonpartisan

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 4 of 9

 COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 4	

THOMAS WILLHITE Nonpartisan

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 5

LAMAR W. BAKER Nonpartisan

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 5

CARL H. MOOR Nonpartisan

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 5

DOROTHY C. KIM Nonpartisan

COA - PJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 6

ARTHUR GILBERT Nonpartisan

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 6

MARTIN J. TANGEMAN Nonpartisan

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 5 of 9

	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 7	
JOHN L. SEGAL		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 7	
GAIL R. FEUER		Nonpartisan
	COA - PJ - DISTRICT 2 DIVISION 8	
TRICIA A. BIGELOW		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 3	
COLE BLEASE		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 3	
LOUIS MAURO		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
JOAN KATHLEEN IRIG	ON	Nonpartisan

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 6 of 9

	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
JUDITH L. HALLER		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
RICHARD D. HUFFMA	N	Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
PATRICIA D. BENKE		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
CYNTHIA AARON		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
WILLIAM S. DATO		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 1	
PATRICIA GUERRERO		Nonpartisan

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 7 of 9

	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 2	
DOUGLAS P. MILLER		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 2	
RICHARD T. FIELDS		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 2	
ART W. MCKINSTER		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 2	
MARSHA G. SLOUGH		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 3	
DAVID A. THOMPSON		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 3	
RAYMOND J. IKOLA		Nonpartisan

^{*} Incumbent

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 8 of 9

COA - AJ - DISTRICT 4 DIVISION 3

	A-Au- DIOTITIOT 4 DIVIDIOIT 0	<u></u>
THOMAS M. GOETHALS		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 5	
BRUCE SMITH		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 5	
CHARLES S. POOCHIGIAN		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 5	
DONALD R. FRANSON, JR.		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 5	
THOMAS DESANTOS		Nonpartisan
	COA - AJ - DISTRICT 5	
MARK W. SNAUFFER		Nonpartisan

Judicial Candidates

8/24/2018 Page 9 of 9

COA - AJ - DISTRI	CT 5
KATHLEEN A. MEEHAN	Nonpartisan
COA - PJ - DISTRI	CT 6
MARY J. GREENWOOD	Nonpartisan
COA - AJ - DISTRI	CT 6
NATHAN D. MIHARA	Nonpartisan
COA - AJ - DISTRI	CT 6
ALLISON MARSTON DANNER	Nonpartisan