December 8, 2023

County Clerk/Registrar of Voters (CC/ROV) Memorandum #23146

TO: All County Clerks/Registrars of Voters

FROM: /s/ Kirsten Larsen

Elections Administration Manager

RE: Presidential Primary: Nomination Period Filing Extension

Pursuant to Elections Code section 8022, if nomination documents for an eligible incumbent Representative in Congress, State Senator (incumbency determinations were based on redistricting information and the provisions of Section 13108), or Member of the Assembly are not delivered by 5:00 p.m. on the 88th day before the primary election, any person other than the person who was the incumbent on the 88th day shall have until 5:00 p.m. on the 83rd day before the election to file nomination documents for the elective office.

Based on the nomination documents submitted to the Secretary of State by the county elections officials as of 10:03 p.m. on Friday, December 8, 2023, attached is the list of Representative in Congress, State Senator (odd-numbered districts), and Member of the Assembly offices wherein the filing deadline is extended to **Wednesday, December 13, 2023**.

All nomination documents are to be forwarded by the county elections official to the Secretary of State, Elections Division, by Monday, December 18, 2023.

If you have any questions about this information, please feel free to contact us at (916) 653-9154 or candidate-filings@sos.ca.gov.

Attachment

March 5, 2024, Presidential Primary Election

Districts Where Nomination Period Is Extended* to December 13, 2023 Pursuant to Elections Code Section 8022

U.S. Congress

District 12	Alameda, San Francisco
District 16	San Mateo, Santa Clara
District 20	Fresno, Kern, Kings, Tulare
District 29	Los Angeles
District 30	Los Angeles
District 31	Los Angeles
District 47	Orange

State Senator **

District 3	Contra Costa, Napa, Sacramento, Solano, Sonoma, Yolo
District 5	Alameda, San Joaquin
District 7	Alameda, Contra Costa, San Francisco
District 23	Los Angeles, San Bernardino
District 25	Los Angeles, San Bernardino
District 29	San Bernardino
District 31	Riverside, San Bernardino
District 35	Los Angeles
District 39	San Diego

State Assembly

	
District 1	Alpine, Amador, El Dorado, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou
District 2	Del Norte, Humboldt, Mendocino, Sonoma, Trinity
District 6	Sacramento
District 13	San Joaquin
District 15	Contra Costa
District 26	Santa Clara
District 33	Fresno, Kings, Tulare
District 36	Imperial, Riverside, San Bernardino
District 43	Los Angeles
District 44	Los Angeles
District 50	San Bernardino
District 52	Los Angeles
District 54	Los Angeles
District 58	Riverside, San Bernardino
District 79	San Diego

^{*} All information provided is based upon documentation received from counties as of 10:03 p.m. on December 8, 2023.

^{**} The listed districts and their corresponding counties reflect the new district lines.