APPENDIX F

Voter Registration – Frequently Asked Questions

Who is eligible to register to vote?

Anyone can register to vote if they are:

- A United States citizen and a resident of California,
- 18 years old or older on Election Day (or 16 or 17 years old for pre-registration),
- Not currently serving a state or federal prison term for the conviction of a felony, and
- Not currently found mentally incompetent to vote by a court.

Must a person provide identification when registering to vote?

- Yes. When registering or re-registering to vote, the voter must provide a California driver license or state ID number, if they have one, in the fields provided on the affidavit of registration.
- If the voter does not have a California driver license or state ID number, they must provide the last four numbers of their Social Security number in the field provided.
- If the voter does not have a California driver license, a state ID card or a Social Security number, the voter can still register. The county elections official will assign a unique identification number to the voter.
- Item 6 of the affidavit of registration must be completed if the voter has been previously registered to vote.

When is the last day to register to vote for an election?

A person must submit a completed and signed affidavit of registration to their county elections office no less than 15 days before an election to be eligible to vote in that election. If the deadline has passed, they have the opportunity to "conditionally" register to vote and vote provisionally. (Elec. Code, § 2170.) Information about Conditional Voter Registration, also known as "Same Day" voter registration, can be found at https://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/voter-registration/same-day-reg/.

Can inmates register and vote?

A person loses the right to register and vote while they are serving a state or federal prison term for the conviction of a felony. Once they are out of state or federal prison (or county jail or other correctional facility for serving a state prison sentence),

the person's ability to vote (if they were previously registered) or to register and vote is restored. For more information on the rights of people who have been incarcerated, please see the Secretary of State's <u>Voting Rights: Persons with a</u> <u>Criminal History</u>.

When must a voter re-register to vote?

A voter should re-register to vote:

• Whenever there is a <u>change in residence address</u>. However, if a voter moved into a temporary residence that they do not intend to be their permanent residence, they can continue to use their prior residence where they were previously registered to vote as the address for the purpose of voting.

A voter must re-register to vote:

- To change their political party preference.
- To change their surname.

Upon re-registration, Item 6 of the affidavit of registration must be completed with the voter's previous registration information.

If a voter just moved within their county, do they need to re-register to vote?

If a voter moved to a new address within the same county, they can either re-register to vote or they can update their registration with a written notice to their county elections official.

If a voter did not vote in the last election do they need to re-register?

No. In general, a voter is registered for as long as the voter lives at the same address. However, if a voter has not voted in the last several elections, they may be sent a request to confirm that they have not moved.

If a person does not vote in a primary election, will they be able to vote in the following general election?

Yes.

If a voter is away at school, what address (college or parents') can they use?

A voter may use whichever address they consider to be their domicile, but not both.

If a person is on parole, probation, mandatory supervision, or postrelease community supervision can they register to vote?

Yes.

If a wife's husband is out of town but he needs to register, may the wife register him?

No. He must sign the affidavit of registration himself, under penalty of perjury. He can complete the affidavit and mail it from wherever he is. He may also <u>register</u> <u>online</u> at the Secretary of State's website.

If a voter registers to vote can the voter be called for jury duty?

Jury duty lists are compiled from a variety of sources, including the Department of Motor Vehicles records and the voter registration file.