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Information Sheet Qualifications 
and Requirements 

State Assembly, 63rd District Special Election 

The Governor issued the proclamation for a special GENERAL election to be held on August 26, 
2025. The date of the special PRIMARY election is scheduled for June 24, 2025. 

The date of the special primary election is calculated by counting back nine Tuesdays proceeding 
the day of the special general election at which the vacancy is to be filled. If the ninth Tuesday is 
the day following a state holiday, the date of the special primary election is calculated by 
counting back ten Tuesdays preceding the special general election.      § 10704(a)1 

I. QUALIFICATIONS 

Every candidate shall: 

A. Be a U.S. citizen Cal. Const., art. IV, § 2(c)2 

B. Be a registered voter and otherwise qualified to vote for that office at the time nomination 
papers are issued to the person. § 201 

C. Not have been convicted of a felony involving accepting or giving, or offering to give, any 
bribe, the embezzlement of public money, extortion or theft of public money, perjury, or 
conspiracy to commit any of those crimes. § 20 

D. During their lifetime serve no more than 12 years in the State Senate, the Assembly, or 
both, in any combination of terms. This subdivision shall apply only to those Members of 
the Senate or the Assembly who are first elected to the Legislature after 2012 and who have 
not previously served in the Senate or Assembly. Members of the Senate or Assembly who 
were elected before June 2012 may serve only the number of terms allowed at the time of 
the last election before June 2012. 

Cal. Const., art. IV, § 2(a)(4)3 

1 All code section references are to the California Elections Code unless stated otherwise. 

2 Article IV, section 2(c), of the California Constitution requires a one-year residency in the legislative district and three years 
residency in California; however, it is the legal opinion of this office that these provisions violate the U.S. Constitution and are 
unenforceable. 

3 Term limits for Members of the State Senate or Assembly who were elected prior to June 2012: Senate – not to have served two 
terms in the State Senate since November 6, 1990; Assembly – not to have served three terms in the State Assembly since 
November 6, 1990. 
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II. REQUIREMENTS 

A. CAMPAIGN FILINGS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Any individual who intends to be a candidate for an elective state office shall: 

1. Candidate Intention Statement 
File with the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division a Candidate Intention 
Statement (Form 501) for the specific state office sought. A separate Form 501 must 
be filed for each election, including re-election to the same office. This statement shall 
be signed under penalty of perjury and filed prior to the solicitation or receipt of any 
contribution or loan, including expenditures made from personal funds used for 
campaign purposes. Gov. Code § 85200 

2. Campaign Contribution Account 
a. A Statement of Organization—Recipient Committee (Form 410) shall be filed with 

the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division within 10 days of qualifying as a 
committee by receiving contributions totaling $2,000 or more in a calendar year. 

Gov. Code §§ 82013(a), 84101 

b. Establish one campaign contribution account at an office of a financial institution 
located in California after filing the Candidate Intention Statement. 

Gov. Code § 85201(a) 

c. All contributions or loans made to the candidate, to a person on behalf of the 
candidate, or to the candidate's controlled committee shall be deposited in the 
account. Gov. Code § 85201(c) 

d. Any personal funds, which will be used to promote the election of the candidate, 
shall be deposited in the account prior to expenditure.          Gov. Code § 85201(d) 

e. All campaign expenditures shall be made from the account. 
Gov. Code § 85201(e) 

3. Exceptions 
a. Parts 1 and 2(d) and (e), above, do not apply to a candidate's payment of a filing 

fee and statement of qualifications fee from his or her personal funds. 
Gov. Code §§ 85200, 85201(f) 

b. Part 2, above, does not apply if the candidate does not receive contributions and 
makes campaign expenditures from personal funds of less than $2,000 in a calendar 
year, excluding payment of the filing fee and statement of qualifications fee. 
         Gov. Code § 85201(g) 

c. An individual who raises contributions from others for their campaign, but who 
raises or spends less than $2,000 in a calendar year, shall establish a campaign 
contribution account but is not required to file a Statement of Organization or other 
statement of bank account information.    Gov. Code § 85201(h) 
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B. FILING FEES 

1. Full Payment of Filing Fee 
Every candidate must pay a filing fee equal to 1% of the first year’s salary as of the 
first day on which a candidate may circulate petitions in lieu of filing fees, made 
payable to the Secretary of State.  Currently, the filing fee for State Assembly is 
$1,327.03.  The filing fee must be paid to the county elections official at the time the 
candidate obtains the nomination papers from the county elections official. 

§§ 8103(a)(3), 8105 

2. Signatures In Lieu of Filing Fee 
A candidate may choose to submit by April 22, 2025, a minimum of 143 valid 
signatures for State Assembly on petitions in lieu of filing fees.     

   §§ 8106(a)(1), (b)(3), 8106.5, 10704(a) 

a. Petitions for in-lieu signatures may be obtained from the county elections official 
and circulated between April 14, 2025, and April 22, 2025. Sections of in-lieu-filing-
fee petitions shall be filed with the county elections official of the county in which 
the signers reside. §§ 8106(b), 8106.5 

b. The candidate may submit signatures to cover all or any prorated portion of the 
filing fee.      §§ 8106(b)(3), 8106.5 

c. Any registered voter may sign an in-lieu-filing-fee petition for any candidate for 
whom they are eligible to vote. § 8106(b)(1) 

d. Circulators of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions must be 18 years of age or older. 
§§ 102, 8106(b)(4) 

e. Within 2 days after receipt of the petition, the county elections official shall notify 
the candidate of any deficiency. The candidate shall then, at the time of obtaining 
nomination documents, pay a pro rata portion of the filing fee to cover the 
deficiency.       §§ 8106(b)(3), 8106.5 

f. Signatures in lieu of the filing fee may be counted toward the nomination sponsor 
signature requirements. §§ 8061, 8106(d) 

Signature In-Lieu of Filing Fee Requirements 
§§ 8106(a)(1), 8106.5 

Candidates Filing Fee 

Signatures 
In-Lieu of 
Filing Fee 

Value 
of Each 

Signature 
All Candidates $1,327.03  143 $9.27993007 
(except write-in 
candidates) 

C. BALLOT DESIGNATIONS 

1. Each candidate who submits a ballot designation shall file a completed ballot 
designation worksheet that supports the use of that ballot designation by the 
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candidate. The ballot designation worksheet shall be filed with the elections official at 
the same time the candidate files their Declaration of Candidacy.       § 13107.3 

2. The ballot designation shall remain the same for all purposes of both primary and 
general elections, unless the candidate, at least 54 days prior to the general election, 
requests in writing a different designation which the candidate is entitled to use at the 
time of the request. The written request must be accompanied by the ballot designation 
worksheet. § 13107(h) 

D. STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTERESTS 

1. Each candidate must file a Statement of Economic Interests with the county elections 
official disclosing investments, interests in real property, and any income received 
during the immediately preceding 12 months pursuant to the requirements of the 
Political Reform Act of 1974, As Amended. Gov. Code §§ 87200, 87201, 87500(d) 

2. This statement is to be filed by May 1, 2025. It is not required if the candidate has filed 
such statements within the past 60 days for the same jurisdiction. 

   Gov. Code § 87201 

E. FOR ALL CANDIDATES (EXCEPT WRITE-IN CANDIDATES) 

1. Between April 25, 2025, and May 1, 2025, obtain nomination documents from the 
county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.  Nomination 
documents include nomination papers for collecting signatures and a Declaration of 
Candidacy that must be executed by the candidate. 

§§ 333, 8020, 8040, 8041, 10704(a) 

2. Nomination Papers 

a. Gather between 40 and 60 signatures for filing the nomination papers. 
§ 8062(a)(2) 

b. Signatures on the in-lieu filing fee petitions may satisfy the signature requirement. 
                §§ 8061, 8106(d) 

c. Any candidate may obtain signatures to and sign their own nomination papers. 
§ 106(a) 

d. All signers must be registered voters in the district or political subdivision in which 
the candidate is to be voted on. §§ 100, 8068 

e. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators 
must be 18 years of age or older.                    §§ 102, 8066 

f. Between April 25, 2025, and May 1, 2025, each section of the nomination papers 
shall be delivered to the county elections official of the county in which the signer 
resides and is a voter. §§ 8020, 8063, 10704(a) 
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3. Declaration of Candidacy 

a. The Declaration of Candidacy shall be obtained from, and delivered to, the elections 
official of the county in which the candidate resides and is a voter. 

§§ 8040, 8064 

b. Upon request of a candidate, the county elections official shall provide the 
candidate with a Declaration of Candidacy. The county elections official shall not 
require a candidate to sign, file, or sign and file a Declaration of Candidacy as a 
condition of receiving nomination papers. § 8020(d) 

c. The county elections official shall require all candidates filing a Declaration of 
Candidacy to execute the declaration in their office unless the candidate, in a written 
statement signed and dated by the candidate, designates a third party to obtain the 
declaration form from the county elections official and deliver it to the candidate. 
The written statement shall state that the candidate is aware that the Declaration of 
Candidacy must be properly executed and delivered not later than 5:00 p.m. on 
May 1, 2025, to the office of the county elections official from whom it was 
obtained. Any person may return the completed Declaration of Candidacy.            
                    §§ 8028, 10704 

F. FOR WRITE-IN CANDIDATES ONLY AND ONLY FOR THE SPECIAL PRIMARY ELECTION 4 

1. Filing Fees 

Write-in candidates are not required to pay filing fees. § 8604 

2. Nomination Papers 

a. Gather between 40 and 60 signatures for filing the nomination papers. 
                   §§ 8062(a)(2), 8600(b) 

b. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. 
Circulators must be 18 years of age or older.     §§ 102, 8066 

c. Signers must be voters in the district or political subdivision in which the write-in 
candidate is to be voted on.                § 8603 

d. Between April 28, 2025, and June 10, 2025, circulate nomination papers for 
signatures and leave them for examination with the county elections official of the 
county in which the signers reside. § 8601 

4 Write-in candidates can only run in the primary election. A write-in candidate from the primary election is eligible to run/have 
their name on the ballot in the general election if that candidate is one of the top two vote getters at the primary election, unless 
one candidate receives a majority of the votes (50% +1). (Elections Code §§ 8605, 10705.) 
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3. Statement of Write-In Candidacy 

a. Between April 28, 2025, and June 10, 2025, file a Statement of Write-In Candidacy 
with the county elections official of the candidate’s county of residence.          § 8601 

b. The Statement of Write-In Candidacy shall contain the following information: 

i. Candidate’s name, 

ii. Candidate’s complete residence address, 

iii. A declaration stating that the candidate is a write-in candidate, 

iv. The name of the office for which the candidate is running, 

v. The date of the election, and 

vi. Candidate’s 10-year political party preference history. 
§§ 8600, 8601, 10704(a) 

4. In order to be nominated at the special primary election, the write-in candidate must 
receive the highest number of votes cast for this office or the second highest number of 
votes cast for this office, unless there is a tie or a vacancy, or unless another candidate 
has been elected to the office by winning a majority of the votes. 

§§ 8142, 8605, 10705 
III. GENERAL INFORMATION 

A. Each of the forms mentioned above is available free of charge from the county elections 
official. § 8101 

B. The State Assembly has a membership of 80 members elected for two-year terms. This 
election is for the remainder of the term.   Cal. Const., art IV, section 2(a)(1) 

C. Because of the requirements of the Political Reform Act, As Amended, a candidate should 
visit the website of the Fair Political Practices Commission at www.fppc.ca.gov for the 
most recent copy of the Information Manual on Campaign Disclosure Provisions of the 
Political Reform Act, which gives the filing requirements for reporting campaign 
contributions, etc. 

IMPORTANT NOTICE 
This information sheet of candidate qualifications and procedures is for general information only and 
does not have the force and effect of law, regulation, or rule. In case of conflict, the law, regulation, 
or rule will apply. The candidate should obtain the most up-to-date information available because of 
possible changes in law. 

http://www.fppc.ca.gov/
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