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Summary of  
Qualifications and Requirements for the Offices of 

SECRETARY OF STATE, CONTROLLER, AND TREASURER 
June 5, 2018, Primary Election 

I. QUALIFICATIONS 

Every candidate shall: 

A. Be a registered voter and otherwise qualified to vote for that office at the time that 
nomination papers are issued to the person. § 2011 

B. Not have been convicted of a felony involving accepting or giving, or offering to give, 
any bribe, the embezzlement of public money, extortion or theft of public money, 
perjury, or conspiracy to commit any of those crimes. § 20 

C. Not have served two terms in the office sought since November 6, 1990. 
 Cal. Const., art. V, § 11 

II. REQUIREMENTS 

A. CAMPAIGN FILINGS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Any individual who intends to be a candidate for an elective state office shall: 

1. Candidate Intention Statement 

File with the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division a Candidate Intention 
Statement (Form 501) for the specific state office sought. A separate Form 501 must 
be filed for each election, including re-election to the same office. This statement 
shall be signed under penalty of perjury and filed prior to the solicitation or receipt of 
any contribution or loan, including expenditures made from personal funds used for 
campaign purposes. Gov. Code § 85200 

2. Campaign Contribution Account 

a. A Statement of Organization—Recipient Committee (Form 410) shall be filed 
with the Secretary of State’s Political Reform Division within 10 days of 
receiving $2,000 or more in a calendar year. Gov. Code §§ 82013(a), 84101 

                                            
1 All code section references are to the California Elections Code unless stated otherwise.  
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b. Establish one campaign contribution account at an office of a financial institution 
located in California after filing the Candidate Intention Statement. 

 Gov. Code § 85201(a) 

c. All contributions or loans made to the candidate, to a person on behalf of the 
candidate, or to the candidate's controlled committee shall be deposited in the 
account. Gov. Code § 85201(c) 

d. Any personal funds, which will be used to promote the election of the candidate, 
shall be deposited in the account prior to expenditure. Gov. Code § 85201(d) 

e. All campaign expenditures shall be made from the account. 
 Gov. Code § 85201(e) 

3. Exceptions 

a. Parts 1 and 2(d) and (e), above, do not apply to a candidate's payment of a filing 
fee and statement of qualifications fee from his or her personal funds. 

 Gov. Code §§ 85200, 85201(f) 

b. Part 2, above, does not apply if the candidate does not receive contributions and 
makes campaign expenditures from personal funds of less than $2,000 in a 
calendar year, excluding payment of the filing fee and statement of qualifications 
fee. Gov. Code § 85201(g) 

c. An individual who raises contributions from others for his or her campaign, but 
who raises or spends less than $2,000 in a calendar year, shall establish a 
campaign contribution account but is not required to file a Statement of 
Organization or other statement of bank account information. 

 Gov. Code § 85201(h) 

B. FILING FEES 

1. Full Payment of Filing Fee 

A candidate must pay a filing fee equal to 2% of the first year's salary as of the first 
day on which a candidate may circulate petitions in lieu of filing fees, made payable 
to the Secretary of State. Currently, the filing fee for Secretary of State is $2,937.08, 
for Controller is $3,132.86, and for Treasurer is $3,132.86. The filing fee must be 
paid to the county elections official at the time the candidate obtains his or her 
Declaration of Candidacy and nomination papers from the county elections official of 
the candidate’s county of residence. §§ 8103(a)(1), 8105 

2. Signatures In Lieu of Filing Fee 

A candidate may choose to submit by February 7, 2018 (E-118), a minimum of 7,000 
valid signatures on petitions in lieu of filing fee. § 8106(a)(3) 
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a. Petitions for in-lieu signatures may be obtained from the county elections official 
and circulated between December 14, 2017 (E-173), and February 7, 2018 (E-
118). Sections of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions shall be filed with the county 
elections official of the county in which the signers reside. § 8106(b) 

b. The candidate may submit signatures to cover all or any prorated portion of the 
filing fee. § 8106(b)(3) 

c. Any registered voter may sign an in-lieu-filing-fee petition for any candidate for 
whom he or she is eligible to vote. § 8106(b)(1) 

d. Circulators of in-lieu-filing-fee petitions must be 18 years of age or older.     § 102 

e. Within 10 days after receipt of the petition, the county elections official shall 
notify the candidate of any deficiency. The candidate shall then, at the time of 
obtaining nomination documents, pay a pro rata portion of the filing fee to cover 
the deficiency. § 8106(b)(3) 

f. Signatures in lieu of the filing fee may be counted toward the nomination sponsor 
signature requirements.  §§ 8061, 8106(d) 

 Signature In Lieu of Filing Fee Requirements 
 § 8106(a)(3) 

Candidates Filing Fee 
Signatures In Lieu 

of Filing Fee 
Value of Each 

Signature 
All Secretary of  
State Candidates 
(except write-in 

candidates) 

$2,937.08 7,000 $0.419583 

Candidates Filing Fee 
Signatures In Lieu 

of Filing Fee 
Value of Each 

Signature 
All Controller 

Candidates (except 
write-in candidates) 

$3,132.86 7,000 $0.447551 

Candidates Filing Fee 
Signatures In Lieu 

of Filing Fee 
Value of Each 

Signature 
All Treasurer 

Candidates (except 
write-in candidates) 

$3,132.86 7,000 $0.447551 

C. BALLOT DESIGNATIONS 

1. Each candidate who submits a ballot designation shall file a completed ballot 
designation worksheet that supports the use of that ballot designation by the 
candidate. The ballot designation worksheet shall be filed with the elections official at 
the same time that the candidate files his or her declaration of candidacy.     § 13107.3 
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2. The designation shall remain the same for all purposes of both primary and general 
elections, unless the candidate, at least 98 days prior to the general election, requests 
in writing a different designation which the candidate is entitled to use at the time of 
the request. The written request must be accompanied by a ballot designation 
worksheet. § 13107(e) 

D.  STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTERESTS 

1. Each candidate must file a Statement of Economic Interests with the county elections 
official of the candidate’s county of residence disclosing investments, interests in real 
property, and any income received during the immediately preceding 12 months 
pursuant to the requirements of the Political Reform Act of 1974, As Amended. 

 Gov. Code §§ 87200, 87201, 87500(b) 

2. This statement is to be filed between February 12, 2018 (E-113 [State Holiday]), and 
March 9, 2018 (E-88). It is not required if the candidate has filed such statements 
within the past 60 days for the same jurisdiction. Gov. Code § 87201 

E. FOR ALL CANDIDATES (EXCEPT WRITE-IN CANDIDATES) 

1. Between February 12, 2018 (E-113 [State Holiday]), and March 9, 2018 (E-88), 
obtain nomination documents from the county elections official of the candidate’s 
county of residence. Nomination documents include nomination papers for collecting 
signatures and a Declaration of Candidacy that must be executed by the candidate. 

 §§ 333, 8020, 8040, 8041 

2. Nomination Papers 

a. Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers. 
 § 8062(a)(1) 

b. Signatures on the in-lieu-filing-fee petitions may satisfy this signature 
requirement. §§ 8061, 8106(d) 

c. Any candidate may obtain signatures to and sign his or her own nomination 
papers.  § 106(a) 

d. All signers must be registered California voters. §§ 100, 8068 

e. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators 
must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066 

f. Between February 12, 2018 (E-113 [State Holiday]), and March 9, 2018 (E-88), 
each section of the nomination paper shall be delivered to the county elections 
official of the county in which the signer resides and is a voter. §§ 8020, 8063 
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3. Declaration of Candidacy 

a. The Declaration of Candidacy shall be obtained from, and delivered to, the county 
elections official of the county in which the candidate resides and is a voter. 

  §§ 8040, 8064 

b. Upon request of a candidate, the county elections official shall provide the 
candidate with a Declaration of Candidacy. The county elections official shall not 
require a candidate to sign, file, or sign and file a Declaration of Candidacy as a 
condition of receiving nomination papers. § 8020(d) 

c. The county elections official shall require all candidates filing a Declaration of 
Candidacy to execute the declaration in his or her office unless the candidate, in a 
written statement signed and dated by the candidate, designates a third party to 
obtain the declaration form from the county elections official and to deliver it to 
the candidate. The written statement shall state that the candidate is aware that the 
Declaration of Candidacy must be properly executed and delivered not later than 
March 9, 2018 (E-88), to the office of the county elections official from whom it 
was received. Any person may return the completed Declaration of Candidacy. 

 § 8028 

4. If the eligible incumbent fails to file the nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on 
March 9, 2018 (E-88), any other person, if otherwise qualified, may obtain and file 
the nomination documents by 5:00 p.m. on March 14, 2018 (E-83). § 8022 

5. If only one person has declared a candidacy for a voter-nominated office at the 
primary election and that candidate dies after March 9, 2018 (E-88), but on or before 
March 14, 2018 (E-83), any person otherwise qualified may circulate and deliver 
nomination documents for the nomination for that office to the county elections 
official by 5:00 p.m. on March 23, 2018 (E-74). § 8025 

F. FOR WRITE-IN CANDIDATES ONLY AND ONLY FOR THE PRIMARY ELECTION 

1. Filing Fees 

Write-in candidates are not required to pay filing fees. § 8604 

2. Nomination Paper 

a. Gather between 65 and 100 signatures for filing the nomination papers. 
 §§ 8062(a)(1), 8600 

b. The candidate may appoint persons to circulate the nomination papers. Circulators 
must be 18 years of age or older. §§ 102, 8066 

c. All signers must be registered California voters. § 8603 
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d. Between April 9, 2018 (E-57), and May 22, 2018 (E-14), circulate nomination 
papers for signatures and leave them for examination with the county elections 
official of the county in which the signers reside. § 8601 

3. Statement of Write-In Candidacy 

a. Between April 9, 2018 (E-57), and May 22, 2018 (E-14), file a Statement of 
Write-In Candidacy with the county elections official of the candidate’s county of 
residence. § 8601 

b. The Statement of Write-In Candidacy shall contain the following information: 

i. Candidate’s name, 
ii. Candidate’s complete residence address, 

iii. A declaration stating that the candidate is a write-in candidate, 
iv. The name of the office for which the candidate is running, 
v. The date of the election, and 

vi. Candidate’s 10-year political party preference history. § 8600 

4. Write-in candidates can only run in the primary election. In order to be nominated to 
appear on the general election ballot, the write-in candidate must receive the highest 
number of votes cast for this office or the second highest number of votes cast for this 
office at the primary election, unless there is a tie. §§ 8142, 8605 

III. GENERAL INFORMATION 

A. Each of the forms mentioned above is available free of charge from the county 
elections official. § 8101 

B. The terms of office for Secretary of State, Controller, and Treasurer are four years, 
beginning on January 7, 2019. Cal. Const., art V, § 11 

C. Because of the requirements of the Political Reform Act, As Amended, a candidate 
should visit the website of the Fair Political Practices Commission at www.fppc.ca.gov 
for the most recent copy of the Information Manual on Campaign Disclosure Provisions 
of the Political Reform Act, which gives the filing requirements for reporting campaign 
contributions, etc. 

 
IMPORTANT NOTICE 

 

This information sheet of candidate qualifications and procedures is for general information only and 
does not have the force and effect of law, regulation, or rule.  In case of conflict, the law, regulation, or 
rule will apply. The candidate should obtain the most up-to-date information available because of 
possible changes in law. 
 
 
 
 
 

http://www.fppc.ca.gov/
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